#TheReadingQuest Sign Up and TBR

Aentee’s #TheReadingQuest is one of the most creative reading challenges I’ve ever seen and it appeals to me on every level. #TheReadingQuest is hosted by Aentee with delightful character art by CW of Read, Think, Ponder, and runs from August 13th until September 10th. Check out the full details in the sign-up post linked above.

This is my first formal reading challenge! The basic rules of this challenge are that you choose one RPG class out of four and follow that character’s path along the Quest Board, though you can take time for side-quests.

I love all things fantasy, so typically of me, I have chosen the Mage path.

mage-class-tbr


The First Book of a Series

24790901

The Abyss Surrounds Us by Emily Skrutskie

The first in a duology about sea monsters, pirates, and sapphic romance.


A Book Set in a Different World

31082300

Timekeeper by Tara Sim

I don’t really know much about this one, other than it has a gay romance and an alternate Victorian-esque steampunk setting.


A Book Based on Mythology

32890474.jpg

The Seafarer’s Kiss by Julia Ember

I’m prepared to absolutely adore this one; it’s an f/f retelling of The Little Mermaid, with a bisexual mermaid protagonist and a Viking shield maiden love interest.

This book includes aspects of Norse mythology alongside its more central focus on mermaids.


A Book With a One Word Title

24763621

Wintersong by S. Jae-Jones

I don’t know much about either Labyrinth or musical composition, both of which were key influences on this book, but the cover and title are as haunting and lovely as I’ve been told the prose is.


A Book With Magic

33358438.jpg

Peter Darling by Austin Chant

Listen, put the words ‘queer’ and ‘retelling’ together in your pitch and you have me. This Peter Pan retelling is set in Neverland, so it must have magic.


That’s my TBR for the Mage path! I have hopes of being able to embark on some of the other character quests as well, but I don’t want to set my ambitions too high for my first ever reading challenge. Progress updates will be on my twitter.

mage-class-character-card

Adorable character art by CW of Read, Think, Ponder

Are you participating in #TheReadingQuest? Which path have you chosen?

2 thoughts on “#TheReadingQuest Sign Up and TBR

Leave a Reply

